Main Menu

Question for professional restorers.

Started by Joegrapes, August 29, 2019, 05:57:16 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Joegrapes

Ok, I've been screwing with this fuel sending unit problem for years. I have not found an aftermarket sending unit that works. I mean works right. They all seem to make the gauge needle move but not at all accurate. When you guys restore a car for a client and you need a new sending unit what do you do? Look for an NOS unit or have you found someone that makes an exact repro of an original unit that works right?

70 Challenger Lover

I'm not a professional restorer but I've read up on this stuff for other cars with similar problems. One thing some guys have done in the Corvette world is to measure the resistance at various float levels and then add a resistor of the correct size behind the gauge to get it closer to factory specs. It's never as perfect as a modern car but it gets it fairly good.

The only part I care about is where the needle is pointing as the car runs out of gas. I've had cars that show a full needle width below the empty line as they are going dry. Others that were a full needle width above the empty line. That was good to know when I was young and cruising around with little change in my pocket. Now I just top it off whenever it's below half.

Cuda Cody

At best, they are not accurate IMO.  But they are consistent.   You know how big your tank is, right?  Drive it until it's at half and then fill up.  Some simple math will give you a good idea what you have left in the tank.  Do the same for 3/4 and 1/4 full and you'll always have a great idea of the fuel left.

70 Challenger Lover

On Mopars, it's been my experience that they are not far off when displaying empty but they always seem far off when the tank is full. This is fine with me as I'm more interested in accuracy when I'm running out.

Joegrapes