Main Menu

Orientation of oil pump drive slot

Started by headejm, March 12, 2021, 10:33:55 AM

Previous topic Next topic

headejm

Question for all the BB engine experts...this is on a 383.

Should the oil pump drive slot be "exactly" parallel with the centerline of engine at TDC compression stroke? Can it be a couple of degrees off? I've installed my gear several times and cannot get to "exactly" parallel.  I'd say mine is 1 - 5 degrees off of parallel.

anlauto

Yes I  would say it's slightly off of  perfect parallel :alan2cents:

DISCLOUSURE: I'm not an expert.
I've taught you everything you know....but I haven't taught you everything I know....
Check out my web site ....  Alan Gallant Automotive Restoration

Chryco Psycho

This is a guideline , what cam are you running ? if it is not the exact factory grind on the original blank then who says the position of the gear ground onto the cam blank is exactly 100% accurate or is the oil pump drive gear exactly accurate if it is not the factory drive , for example this may affect the exact rotation of the dist by 5-6* to get the timing correct & really has no effect on anything .
Just install the drive get the dist pointed correctly for #1 firing & wire accordingly & adjust the timing so it runs best !

71383bee

Agreed. I think what matters most is #1 firing on its compression stroke. For initial fire up I try to set it at 10 degrees btdc.  At least it's got some  initial to help her run and then dial it up for break in.

I think they focused on the slot orientation so the vac advance on the distributor was placed in a way that timing adjustment could be made without hitting the firewall or something. Also it helps to standardize things that #1 was always at or near a certain position.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
73 Challenger Rallye - 340 4 speed - K6 w/ White Top
70 Challenger Convertible - 318 Auto - K5 w/ White Top

ply64post

headejm

This should help you.

Jeff

RUNCHARGER