Main Menu

Seats -- upgrade or redo?

Started by shadango, July 18, 2019, 12:11:49 PM

Previous topic Next topic

shadango

I have been himhawwing for a few years about the seats in my Baracuda...

They were recovered by someone in the 80s with a crushed velour material in blue....when I got the car they were stained and moldy so we steamcleaned and dyed them black/dark grey.

Honestly they look pretty ok......and are more comfortable than vinyl in the summer...LOL

That said, I know my foam is worn out some.

SO I started thinking about replacing with aftermarket seats...and specifically seats with LUMBAR SUPPORT (I have a bad back).  I found some cool ones at a vendor at Carlisle three shows ago and was this close to buying but then didnt....they were leather-like vinyl with lumbar and reasonable side bolsters....they had the seat bases needed as well.  As  I recall it would have been like $1500 to do both seats.....ouch...and then they would not match the rear.....so I decided to think about it.

But then at Carlisle this year I ended up picking up a new set of repop black seat backs to replace the ones I have (they were blue too, and we dyed those black....easily scratched etc).

I bought the new seat backs in a moment of heat-exhausted frailty...LOL

I actually like the seats as is except for lack of lumbar support......the drive to Carlisle is a good test of a longer run and aside from the lack of lumbar they are ok.

Any way to modify the stock ones with new foam and keep what I have?

My drivers seat back may be a little tweaked to "the gangsta lean", but not real bad....

Can I add some foam in the lumbar region while replacing all the foam?  I use a rolled up towel while driving now.....

blown motor

I had more foam added to mine by a guy that does furniture upholstery. It worked great. I expect a good upholsterer could give you the lumbar effect that you want.
Who has more fun than people!
68 Charger R/T    74 Challenger Rallye