Main Menu

Red interior E bodies: looking for help on plastics color code

Started by Tx9h6e4cuda, December 20, 2021, 01:50:21 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Tx9h6e4cuda

Good afternoon everyone
I am finally redoing my interior on my 70 Cuda and it's going back to red. Everything is currently black inside. I bought new door panels (metro ones from Roseville) and they are in black.

The problem I'm having is the product to recolor the plastics to red. SEM, PPG, etc has no formula for the red colored interior for 1970. I have been working for two months on finding information and bringing red interior pieces to different color shops and they cannot figure out the correct dye. I have contacted different suppliers but they can't help due to the age. Someone must have done this before and located the correct color code for SEM for the interior plastics.

Does anyone have the color code for E body red interior plastics for SEM? I want to buy it all mixed and  sprayed through a gun so it could be uniform and the same color.

Any help is greatly appreciated as this has been a two month quest to find the color.

JS29

:welcome: There is a member here @cuda hunter Who loves red interiors, Maybe he can help you.  :handshake:

cuda hunter

Sorry, have not found the correct formula.

Perhaps, @Shoooter might have an idea.  He has an awesome red interior.   
"All riches begin as a state of mind and you have complete control of your mind"  -- B. Lee

anlauto

I know you mentioned you DON'T want spray bombs, but Herb's paint has figured out the secret sauce, maybe they will share their mix code or possibly sell you a quart ? It's worth a phone call  :dunno:

https://www.herbsparts.com/proddetail.php?prod=PAINT

FYI....Not "everything" should be the exact same shade of red....there's variances throughout the different types of plastics, metals soft trim etc... :alan2cents:
I've taught you everything you know....but I haven't taught you everything I know....