Main Menu

Mopar Stage VI cylinder head info

Started by Brads70, August 19, 2017, 05:03:34 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Brads70

I was researching heads to use on my 400 stroker combo and after researching the Mopar Performance Stage VI (6) Cylinder heads here is what I have learned. I am by no means an expert on Mopar engines just thought I'd share what I've dug up, Enjoy!

1st thing! DO NOT USE the first generation of these castings. ( Early 1990's)They are junk!  From what I have read Mopar quickly changed the casting process as the first generation almost always had cracking problems and leaked water and oil!
These heads can be identified by the casting logo. The new heads have an M with a circle around them about 1/2- 5/8 diameter. The junk heads have a larger logo about 1". This is my description looking at a picture  in the book by HP books titled Big Block Mopar Performance.

The Chapman head (part # P4876383) is a totally different casting than the Mopar Stage 6 head (part# P4529335)
Mopar Performance parts Stage VI part #'s P4529335 and (P5249579 is the Max wedge/big port version)
Chapman Mopar part # is P4876383 and (P4876386 Max Wedge design)
The Chapman heads use longer Valves than the Mopar stage 6 heads. (11/32 stem Dia.).The spring pockets then are higher. The intake valve is bigger on the Chapman heads .The combustion chamber shape is different too.  I'm not totally sure but, when looking at the Chapman combustion chamber it looks like they are of the angle plug design. Here is a link to the Chapman site.   http://www.chapmanracingheads.com/products/prodDetails.asp?pID=42