Main Menu

E Body rear spring angle

Started by rftroy, April 15, 2017, 02:55:40 PM

Previous topic Next topic

rftroy

So, as my first post to the site - Does anyone know the technical reason that E Body rear leaf springs are angled outward at the rear?  The fronts of the leaves are 3 inches closer together than the rear.

Robert
70 Challenger. On rotisserie. 505, Six Pack, 5SR A-855 5-speed, 3.55, B7 blue;
AAR, 4-speed, 3.91, Tor-Red;
70 440 6 pack Roadrunner, 4-speed, 3.54, Plum Crazy;
68 Formula S conv, 383, 4-speed, 3.23, Electric Blue;
69 Barracuda conv, Slant 6, OD4, 2.94, 71 B5 blue;
78 Lil' Red Truck, Red

Cuda Cody

I had no idea they were different!  Learn something new.   :twothumbsup:  And welcome @rftroy   Thanks for sharing that with us.  Do you have any idea why they did it like that?

rftroy

No.  That's what I'm curious to find out.  I can't think of a reason and I'm an engineer.

I have the Challenger up on its side on the overturning fixture and I just measured the distances.  The center to center of the front hangers is ~45 inches, the C to C of the rear hangers is ~48-1/16 inches.

I just looked in the 9th ed. of the DC Chassis book, and it shows that the E body springs are angled outward toward the rear by 1.67 degrees.
Something I just read that I didn't know was that 71 and later B bodies are angled inward toward the rear by 0.61 degrees.  And F Bodies have springs angled outward 0.85 degrees toward the rear.
A bodies and pre-70 B Bodies have parallel springs.

Robert
78 Lil' Red Truck, Red

Cuda Cody

Do you think it could have been a by-product of a floor / seat design need and the small amount of angle was within a specification that would not affect the overall function of the spring?   :notsure:   Just guessing?  They must have done it for a reason, right?

Roadman

:popcorn:          :popcorn:            Always wondered about that. 

rftroy

Quote from: Cuda Cody on April 15, 2017, 03:49:42 PM