Main Menu

New Fenders or Stamping non-original on 71 Cuda

Started by Drive In Cars, March 18, 2019, 12:41:26 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Drive In Cars

Hi people,

I recently purchased this 71 cuda and she came with non gilled fenders.  I'm not sure which route I should go to change that.  For a few hundred dollars difference I can save myself a seven hour ride to drop off to stamping shop and pick them back up a week later.  That would consist of many tolls gas etc. plus the cost of stamping.  I can buy a pair if Goodmark 71 gilled fenders delivered for about $300.00 more .  I also checked shipping both ways and would be close to the same amount.  I know there can be problems with proper fitting and such with the new fenders, but the ones I took off weren't original and they managed to make them fit.  I've read pro's and cons of both AMD and Goodmark along with others.  I know it sounds like I've made my mind up, but please if I should change it let me know, I'm no pro here lol.  Also I could put the two I have up for sale and get some money back.   Here are a few photo's I'm sure many of you have seen these on the other thread.

Bill
Movies & Cars......So Movie Cars it is !

anlauto

I would say that if the fenders you have are 100% perfect with no rust, no bondo...then go ahead and get the holes stamped into them...if not, just buy a set of AMD fenders and be done with it  :alan2cents:
I've taught you everything you know....but I haven't taught you everything I know....
Check out my web site ....  Alan Gallant Automotive Restoration

Rich G.

For what it's worth I bought AMD fenders for my 71 Cuda and had no problems with them. Twice the price you're saying on the goodmarks

6pack

If you stamp them, no need to paint and matching an old paint job on new ones.  Repainting just fenders does not always achieve great results.  When you drop them off at Tony's go to the Charlotte show and pick them up on the way back!

Drive In Cars