Main Menu

Fixing a quarterpanel

Started by soundcontrol, May 31, 2017, 12:10:25 PM

Previous topic Next topic

soundcontrol

On my new quarterskins (Goodmark I think), the bodyline has a bump near the rear, not pretty, I gotta fix this. Otherwise the skin fits good. Questions, do I fix it before I weld it in or after, whats easiest? And any tips on how to use the hammer and dolly here, seems a bit tricky to me (a total beginner at bodywork).

1 Wild R/T

soundcontrol

Yeah, seen that one, Ron Covell is the master!  :worship:

Cuda Cody

Any way you can get access to it and move the metal where you want it is the best way.  Using a hammer and dolly just takes a little practice.  Like any skill, the more you try and keep trying the better you'll get.  Watch as much You Tube and read as much as you can, then go to town and see if you can get it.  Good luck buddy. 

71GranCoupe

Practice-practice-practice. Take a scrap piece of metal and put a similar dent in it with a hammer or whatever will simulate your dent, then apply what you have observed. If the first one does not work, try it again and again.  Once you are comfortable move over to the quarter and remove the dent. :yes:

soundcontrol

It's not so much a dent, it's like a slight curve in the bodyline, (bad pressing) so I kinda need to move it a bit, to straighten it out. I know, should have bought better quarters, but I got them cheap, and I don't wanna wait 4 months for shipping to get new ones. They fit really well with the AMD outer wheelhouses though.

So if I hit it right above the bodyline, to push the bodyline down, I should use a rounded hammer right?
Gonna be interesting...
If I screw it up I can always cut out that part from my old quarters and replace....

A.Gramz

Can u take that section out of the old one you seem to have welding and grinding down very well? Maybe an option  :notsure:

Cuda Cody

Moving a body line can be tricky.  Good luck and let us know how it goes.

1 Wild R/T