Main Menu

Another Attempt: Oh How I Wish I Could Locate This Car!

Started by 7E-Bodies, September 08, 2020, 03:46:57 PM

Previous topic Next topic

7E-Bodies

May be a repeat to some, but here goes again...In 1980, I was working a Saturday alone to finish up some customer jobs that I needed to knock out at the body shop where I worked as a 19 year old. I had driven my 70 Challenger /6 car as usual. I called a place in Washington, IL (nearby) to order a pint of lacquer for a customer job. When the guy delivered it, I heard the unmistakable rumble of a big block Mopar outside the bay door. When the guy came in with my supplies, I said what is running out there? I didn't give him a chance to answer and opened the overhead door to see a like new 1970 440 Challenger RT with 28,000 miles on it. When I couldn't contain myself, he said "if you have $2000, take it, I hate Mopars". I went on an immediate quest to get the money. There wasn't a bank that'd touch a 10 year old Chrysler product in 1980 for 2k, let alone trust a 19 year old with $100 in the bank. My dad pulled some strings and a loan officer at a local bank agreed to talk to me. He sternly warned me that I'd better not screw up this opportunity as he was going out on a limb. As I rushed to get the car in Washington, IL, I pulled into his driveway with 2 grand in my pocket and strict orders to get the title to my dad's banking buddy ASAP. When the guy opened the two stall garage door, I swear I heard a choir of angels and harps. There it sat. Everything a 19 year old wanted (that wasn't on two legs). Next to it a covered car of some sort. I had to ask. "What's under that?" When he pulled the sheets off of it, there sat an immaculate Yenko Z28. 68? 69? Not sure. He said "now THIS is a car" as he explained that his brother had ordered the Challenger upon coming back from Viet Nam, drove it a while, took another tour and never made it back. Another reason why he wanted it gone (I guess?). I didn't dwell on it. I han