Main Menu

Really confused

Started by jlemler, December 31, 2023, 11:03:36 AM

Previous topic Next topic

jlemler

When it comes to wiring a trouble shooting electrical issues I am a complete novice.  Here is the situation:

1. I start the car (70 Cuda) it starts fine.
2. I hit the brakes and everything goes dim. Amp meter goes a
   little in to discharge.
3. I rev the engine and the meter goes a little into charge.
4. Turn on the lights at idle and the meter goes almost all they way to
    D or Discharge.  I give it some gas and it almost makes it back the
    way to center on the meter. 
5.  If I step of the gas when driving it is the the electrical power is
    drain from the car and it stalls unless I step on the gas.
6.  When I am sitting idling I notice the stereo light on my am/fm will
     flicker with the rotation of the engine.  The overhead console
     lights will get very bright if I rev the engine the stereo light stops
    flickering.
7.  Its a 383 engine, no power brakes, no power steering.  The
    alternator is about 6 years old and the battery is brand new, like
    yesterday new.
Any ideas?  any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
     will get very bright.

71chally

Have you tested the alternator to make sure it is putting out the correct volts?

dodj

Go through ALL your connections. In particular. the bulkhead connector and ammeter connections. But also on the battery, VR grounding to the firewall, start solenoid connections and your fusible link connections.
"There is nothing your government can give you that it hasn't already taken from you in the first place" -Winston Churchill

dodj

And you might want to check out this thread...for learning about ebody elec systems

Hmmm....guess I forgot to link the other thread....oh well, moreparts got it
"There is nothing your government can give you that it hasn't already taken from you in the first place" -Winston Churchill

moreparts