Main Menu

How to remove the rear end?

Started by nsmall, March 22, 2017, 02:55:11 PM

Previous topic Next topic

nsmall

Burdar sent me this information a long time ago.  Any other advice?  I am a rookie and plan to remove the rear axle in three weeks as I prepare my car media blasting.

Removing the rear end is very easy.  Put your jack under the rear end and jack up the car.  Put your jack stands under the rear frame rails(just inboard of the front leaf spring mount)to support the body.  Remove the wheels and let the rear axle hang down but keep the jack under the rear end.  As a secondary safety measure, I like to put the wheels under the car.  If the body would happen to slip off the jack stands, the wheels are there as a secondary support.  This just gives me more piece of mind while working under a car on jack stands.  Disconnect the rear brake hose from the brake line/body bracket.  With the four shackle nuts removed you can start tapping out the shackle from the spring eye and frame.

If all the weight of the rear end is hanging on the springs, it can be hard to tap out the shackles.  Use the jack to lift up the rear end slightly so the springs are in a "neutral" position.  By "neutral" I mean that you don't want the rear end pushing down on the springs...AND you don't want the springs lifting up on the body.  You'll get a feel for where the rear end needs to be so you can get the shackles out.

Once the shackles are out, you can lower the rear end to the ground.  The last thing to do is to remove the 8 nuts that hold the front leaf spring brackets to the car.  With those removed, the entire assembly will roll out the back of the car.  Then you can attach your stands.