Main Menu

Electrical work is expensive!

Started by torredcuda, August 19, 2018, 04:38:06 AM

Previous topic Next topic

torredcuda

Just got a quote to re-wire my 2 car detached garage - $5600 ! I understand he needs to run a heavier wire from the house for more amps but otherwise it`s just lights and outlets. I guessed around $3000 but labor rate is $75/hr and quoted 40 hrs and the rest is materials.
Jeff   `72 Barracuda 340/4spd
https://www.facebook.com/jeffrey.hunt.750

Northeast Mighty Mopar Club
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1486087201685038/

1 Wild R/T

$2600 in materials?  I hope the lights are LED & there is gonna be a bunch of them all individually switched? And at least a dozen outlets including a couple 220v outlets for the compressor & welder....

How much if you dig the trench?  Get another quote or two... :alan2cents:

JH27N0B

That seems pretty extreme, but I'm not an electrical expert by any means.
I had my detached 3 car garage built 10 years ago this month, and at the time I was an engineer at a electricians hand tool manufacturer.  My garage quote included basically the minimum electrical service required by code.  There was a industrial electrician at my company who was a licensed electrician and did side work, so I resisted any attempts to upsell electrical work by the garage contractor other than having them install a 220 outlet,  and had the electrician from work go to town on my garage.
The electrician had me buy most of the supplies.  One thing I learned while working at that company and by my experience with my garage, is how much code requirements differ across the company, and how much that means costs can vary regionally.