Main Menu

Air Compressor Recommendation

Started by 70 Challenger Lover, February 09, 2024, 06:19:02 AM

Previous topic Next topic

70 Challenger Lover

Every now and then, someone asks for a compressor recommendation. I've been researching them for a couple years and this is the unit I recently purchased based on a recommendation from another car guy on a Facebook group.

I had certain air needs that may be more than most other car guys. Basically, I wanted to be able to use my bead blasting cabinet all day long or my portable sand blaster on rusty cars or other large items. The sand blaster requires more than 20 cfm of continuous air with the smallest nozzle. The cabinet more like 15. Both need very dry air. I also wanted to be able to paint occasionally and we all know pure dry air is mandatory for painting.

I find myself frustrated with many of the air compressor suppliers. Salesmen didn't know their products well and so couldn't steer me towards the right system for me.

In the end, a random guy threw this company out saying he was really happy with them. I called expecting the price to be way outside my budget but it was actually quite affordable for what you're getting.

This is a 7.5 hp rotary screw unit producing 25 cfm of continuous air at 125 psi. Those are great numbers. If it were a traditional piston type unit, it would need a 10 hp motor to provide less air. And it would be larger and louder.

This unit has a built in refrigerator that cools the air even more. It's already oil cooled but the fridge gets the air even dryer. The two drains have built in floats so you route drain lines but don't use petcock shut offs. I've put five hours on mine and still have seen it discharge any condensation.