Main Menu

Thoughts on FAKE versus REPRODUCTION (dash VIN/fender tag)

Started by MoparCarGuy, March 05, 2023, 06:23:31 AM

Previous topic Next topic

70vert

Almost 10 years ago I sent my car to a shop for restoration, mainly rusted panel repair & paint. Long story short when they replaced the dash they "lost" the vin tag. UGH!!!!
I contacted A.G. Backeast to get a replacement and they required a lot of verification! I do not have the build sheet, but I sent pics of the fender tag, cowl stamp, current title & registration, and even my Oklahoma registration from when I bought the car. Plus various pics of of the car. Though I am no expert it seemed very authentic, other than being brand new with no wear on a 70 car. They include the correct they correct rivets.

I did freak out when they told me they couldn't find the tag, but once I discovered I could get a replacement I was able to sleep. My car is not a show car so I actually don't even think much about it being a replacement now. Anyway, its a driver and a mild restomod, and obviously a convertible (:

larry4406

How did Moparts address this when they sold replacement dashes over the counter?

MoparCarGuy

Quote from: larry4406 on March 05, 2023, 02:06:52 PM
How did Moparts address this when they sold replacement dashes over the counter?
I am sure the answer included new rosette rivets.  :yes:

torredcuda

Unfortunately missing vin tags probably happen more often with E-bodies due tot he fact they are attached to the dash pad which is a removeable part. My view is as long as the replacement tag is exactly the same as the original there is no intent to commit fraud and would be perfectly fine, obviuosly changing the vin to make the car something is was not is wrong and illegal. The only issue that might come up is two cars with the same exact vin tag but that could be sorted by verifying the real cars body stamped partial vin numbers. and the other car would be the "fake".
Jeff   `72 Barracuda 340/4spd