Main Menu

1973 Cuda quarter panel plan

Started by oldmoparbuff, April 28, 2019, 09:58:16 PM

Previous topic Next topic

oldmoparbuff

I am trying to develop a plan for metal work on my quarter panel.
I am a novice welder with a Miller Mig welder and a little trigger time.

The quarter panel on my car was replaced in the early 80's before me owning the car.
Who ever replaced the quarter did on okay job, buy used a quarter off of a 70-71 car, brazed the top edge about 1' inch on top.

I have quarter panel skins and not full quarters.

I have rust in the wheel arch and low behind wheel well, outer wheel house is good.

My original plan was to replace the marker light, wheel arch and lower rear behind wheel well in three separate pieces and use as little of the replacement skin as possible.
I was trying to stay close to the body line.

I was told by a friend to avoid working the brazed area as it would be difficult to weld.

will upload more photos soon.

Looking for some guidance.

oldmoparbuff

Is the existing quarter better material than the replacement skin?
If I wanted to remove the old quarter there is enough material on the 1/4 skin to get past the brazed areas by about 1/2 inch.

1 Wild R/T

The new repo full quarters are very good, I'd plan on using full quarters... That way you'll would have to second guess the repair once it's painted...

Rich G.