Main Menu

70 base Challenger, 383 4-speed, F8, restoration

Started by Ifixmycarmyself, March 09, 2018, 11:34:06 AM

Previous topic Next topic

Ifixmycarmyself

After Covid and 14 days in hospital and some time for recover I'm back in the garage and it's Time for a small update.
Car was painted last year. The paint looked good directly out of the paint boot with some minor clear runs and some orange peel in some places. Now it has been sitting over the winter and oddly some more orange peel has developed in some places. It's time for polishing, starting with a 1500, 2000 grit wet sanding and the 2000 and a 4000 grit polishing pad (Abralon). Followed by polishing. I'm not an expert on polishing so I had to try some different methods and products. What works best for me right now is the 3M Fast Cut Rubbing (big bottle on pic) on a medium corse pad with the rotary machine followed by the Rupes Fine Polishing Compound (yellow cap) on a fine pad with the dual action machine.

Brads70

Great to hear of your recovery!  :clapping:  Cars will wait!

Ifixmycarmyself

Uploading some pics from the restoration. The carb No. 4367

Ifixmycarmyself

The starter was dead. Usual problem easy to fix. Bad connection between field copper grounding wire and housing. Also replaced bushings and brushes.

Ifixmycarmyself

Four speed transmission had a bad noise from rear main bearing. Car was also shaking badly when clutch was operated. had to  measure off-center, install off-center studs. then I replaced the cast iron bell housing with a correct aluminium bell housing and had to do the exercise all over again. Main bearing, the 308, has a odd dimension and was not that easy to find. Bought a whole restoration kit were it was included.
Made also a Youtube video while doing the restoration:
https://youtu.be/6ATqV_71CkM

Ifixmycarmyself

Leaf spring bushing replacement

Ifixmycarmyself