Main Menu

71' Gran Coup Gen III

Started by CudaA39, November 27, 2019, 02:13:53 PM

Previous topic Next topic

CudaA39

So I figured instead of putting my photos in my intro thread I would just start a build thread and begin documenting my progress.  I am also taking video with a GoPro Hero7 with plans to create a build on YouTube to hopefully act as a resource to any average car guy like myself.  I'm not the first to do this, and I certainly hope I'm not the last.  I'm also not an expert in anything automotive so go easy haha.

As mentioned before, this car started its life as a lime green 71' Grand Coup with PW, PS, AC, 318 4bbl with 3.23 rear.  It had all of the Gran Coup standard options.  We never had the original engine and trans, and even if I did, it wouldn't have been used.  It was purchased in 95/96 and has pretty much been a paper weight ever since.

My goals with this car is to utilize a somewhat stock Gen3, match it to a rollerized 727, add a Dana 60, and run 11.50s on a 9" tire.  I sold my Coronet racecar because it wasn't street legal, so this will be the best of both worlds.

When I began digging this car out from the 20 year hibernation, I was pleased to see my dad had saved so much of the original car.  I began to unbox and separate everything by category, with a goal of engine in/on wheels/moveable by 2020.  The car was a bare shell filled with body panels sitting on two box beam steel frames.  Not a single part is bolted on.

The engine is a 6.4 BGE from a 2017 Ram5500 that was lost in a fire.  It had 16k miles on it, a truck front cover, and even had a PTO (for sale if you need one).  I won't say what I paid, but it was an absolute steal, so the deals are out there.  It cost less than my last rebuild on my 451.