Main Menu

Holley carb and EFI conversion

Started by WCC, May 18, 2018, 04:34:28 AM

Previous topic Next topic

WCC

Am seriously considering doing an EFI conversion on my Cuda. I currently have a Holley 80531 carb (440 motor) - has anybody done this and did you go with a Holley EFI option?
I'd appreciated any feedback, good or bad.

Brads70

I have no experience but have been researching EFI as well. From what I understand if your engine has less that 10" of vacuum at idle in gear then the self learning throttle body types are not best suited for that engine. If you have a relatively stock engine they seem to work great. Holley, FAST, FI Tech are popular. It's best to have a return style of regulator for long pump life and cooler fuel.
I'm leaning towards a FAST sportsman or XFI 2.0 system because of the camshaft in my engine that produces about 6" of vacuum at idle in gear.   

http://www.fastmanefi.com/

Chryco Psycho

I built my own system using a variety of parts
For a computer I used SDSEFI , great system that comes complete with a handheld programmer , $1500
Bosch injectors - $800
Accufab Throttle body  $400
Edelbrock Victor intake predrilled with fuel rails -$400
Bosh fuel pressure regulator - $180
I recommend the Tanks system tank & pump $500

RUNCHARGER

For a bolt on throttle body system I think I would try the Holley setup. Almost everyone I have talked to lately with a Fitech has had some sort of issues. As stated above the throttle body setups work well with a mild engine.
I don't believe I'll ever diddle with a carb again unless it is a restored car. these new systems are pretty easy to install and tune even for an old guy like me.
Sheldon

303 Mopar

I'm 2 weeks away from having the Holley Sniper EFI installed on my 505 stroker in the Charger and will let you know.   :banana:

ledphoot

Looks like a great setup. My understanding is it works better when combined with their distributor.