Main Menu

Buy American, I'd rather not.......

Started by Katfish, September 29, 2017, 03:40:54 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Katfish

Here's a rant,

I always see people posting about "Chinese" crap and they wished they could find "American" made stuff.  My son took off the 2 rear rims and took them and tires to get mounted.
What he brought back pissed me off.   Both rims have 1/4" deep gouges all over the place and actually put a pretty deep cut in his hand while handling them.  The 1 rim has 15 stick-on weights and an equal amount exactly 180 reg on the other side.  Wouldn't these cancel each other?
I work in the electronic industry and the people in China line up 10 deep and are very conscious about their work.  The people here in the good ol USA are too busy checking Facebook and talking about how wasted they're going to get on the weekend.

Rant off

70 Challenger Lover

I think a lot of Chinese stuff has really come a long way. When I was a kid growing up in the 70s, I heard the same complaints about made in Japan. Now Japanese products are considered very high end.

I can't help but agree on American pride. There are a lot of fine Americans producing fine products but in my opinion, we have been sliding for years. If we don't reinvent ourselves as a country at some point, our grandkids will be living in a has been country.

I've experienced stuff like you have with your wheels and it's really a shame. Fewer people seem to care about their work each year. That's partly why I've learned to do so many things myself. Can't trust other people to care like you do.

Roadman

Quote from: Katfish on September 29, 2017, 03:40:54 PM
Here's a rant,

I always see people posting about "Chinese" crap and they wished they could find "American" made stuff.  My son took off the 2 rear rims and took them and tires to get mounted.