Main Menu

Rear drum brake

Started by BAM, October 05, 2021, 02:04:09 AM

Previous topic Next topic

BAM

Hey guys, will those drums fit my standard back end? Do I need 10 or 11 Inch? While there, do you suggest ordering anything else, except the whole under the drum stuff?

I'm not a mechanic but planning to assemble this myself. Because I need to order absolutely everything on this car, while I'm with the rear drums, does anyone have a list of parts that go under the drum? Also, do you recommend changing axles and/or anything else in there?

anlauto

There's two wheel cylinders, left and right adjuster kits, spring hold down kit and shoes. You have to determine the size first...and there's original parts you have to reuse
I've taught you everything you know....but I haven't taught you everything I know....
Check out my web site ....  Alan Gallant Automotive Restoration

Floyd

Bullitt-

Ideal time to service the axle bearings ... You don't necessarily have to replace the bearings but they probably could use new grease
Great write up here  http://www.cuda-challenger.com/cc/index.php?topic=35471.0
.                                               [glow=black,42,300]Doin It Southern Syle[/glow]       

7E-Bodies

Here's the direction I plan to go soon. My 70 RT came with 11" rear drum. I figure for the time I spend gathering parts, cussing, stretching springs, getting it wrong, doing it all over, I can hit up Cas at Dr. Diff and have it all ready to go.

https://www.doctordiff.com/mopar-drum-brake-assembly.html
1970 Challenger R/T Numbers Matching 440 Auto in F8 Quad Green

MoparLeo

What are you working with ? What size backing plates do you have ? 10" were used with disc brake fronts. 11" were for HD 4 wheel drum applications.
moparleo@hotmail.com  For professionally rebuilt door hinges...

JS29

AAR & T/A cars had front disk breaks and 11" drum's in the rear as well.  He is working on a U-code  :alan2cents:

blown motor