Main Menu

Replacing quarter panel on a Cuda or Challenger

Started by Cuda Cody, June 26, 2017, 03:19:36 PM

Previous topic Next topic

JohnP

Hi I am new to this so forgive me if I am making a stuff up. I live in Durban South Africa. I purchased a 1971 Cuda with a 6.1 Hemi which had been in a front end smash,Ouch. I have stripped it down and believe it needs everything to the fire wall including the upper fire wall. The alterkton front suspension and Hydraulic steering is also damaged. I think it would be safe to replace this. Any suggestions on best suspension and company for the body parts. I have attached photos so you have an idea of the damage. I may have to send in 2 messages. Driver side rail is damaged right down to the securing point under the fire wall.
Cheers John

Quote from: Cuda Cody on June 26, 2017, 03:19:36 PM
@7E-Bodies asked for some tips on replacing a quarter panel.  I'm guessing he's not the first nor will he be the last could benefit from some tips on replacing an E-Body quarter panel.  Since drilling out spot welds and plug welding sheet metal is already covered in a lot of other places I thought this would be a good place to focus on some other tips and tricks for hanging a full quarter panel.

Here are some of the things that I think make the job a little easier:

• I prefer to do the quarter panels on a body dolly that holds the body from frame rail points near where the suspension bolts on.  Uni-body's can flex when sheet metal is removed.