Main Menu

Bellhousing smallblock

Started by soundcontrol, November 27, 2017, 10:22:10 AM

Previous topic Next topic

soundcontrol

I found a bellhousing for sale, the left one in the picture. Since I have no experience with manual trannys, will this fit my a833? And why are they slightly different? I know the one below is a smallblock for a833, (but that one is sold), and they are slightly different. Will go between a 5.7 Hemi and an a833.

Cuda Cody

Can you get the casting number off them?

soundcontrol

Quote from: Cuda Cody on November 27, 2017, 10:27:28 AM
Can you get the casting number off them?

Not at this time, maybe later, seller said that it has the larger hole for the front bearing retainer. I need to measure my a833. He said I could make an adapter ring if I have a smaller retainer, is that correct?

soundcontrol

Just found out that that is from a truck, and the clutch fork has some kind of pivot. So I'll skip this one.

Chryco Psycho

Looks like a multi pattern truck housing ,
there are 3 hole sizes for the front brg retainer that Mopar used 4.35 , 4.8 & 5.1 for the Od version , the 4.8 & 5.1 use the same bolt pattern & can be swapped out or the 5.1 can be milled down to fit the 4.8 hole , you can make a ring for the 4.35 to adapt to the 4.8 as well but you may need a washers under the retainer bolts to keep the ring trapped in place

Shane Kelley

Quote from: Chryco Psycho on November 28, 2017, 04:37:38 AM
there are 3 hole sizes for the front brg retainer that Mopar used 4.35 , 4.8 & 5.1 for the Od version , the 4.8 & 5.1 use the same bolt pattern & can be swapped out or the 5.1 can be milled down to fit the 4.8 hole , you can make a ring for the 4.35 to adapt to the 4.8 as well but you may need a washers under the retainer bolts to keep the ring trapped in place

The correct small block bell housing is really not that rare. I would definitely hold out for the correct one you need instead of dealing with all this.

anlauto