Main Menu

Shooting the breeze. What’s the 1/4 mile time of a 340 challenger?

Started by kawahonda, July 20, 2018, 05:09:53 PM

Previous topic Next topic

wingcarenvy

Hey guys I just saw this thread. Cool thread for sure. I have been building small blocks and racing them for 30 years and I do have to disagree about the compression ratio comment. The factory numbers were pretty much dead on, its the non hip mass produced rebuilder kits out there that give the dismal compression numbers. For example, my weapon of choice is the 360. They all came with 8.8-1 compression. Every last untouched one I have torn down has had that exact compression. One of the reasons that most motors don't have the compression you think it has ( which I do agree on that part)is the head gaskets. Most rebuilder gaskets are .040 inch thick versus the .015 inch thick factory ones. This .025 increase in thickness is good for half a point alone, then you throw in sunken valves from quick valve jobs and other tolerance stacking and they can be down a full point.

Recently had the pleasure of making some passes in my Challenger T/A. We weighed it on my own race scales and it weighed 3440. It obviously has the six pack aluminum intake and fiberglass hood which your car may not have which will make your car weigh more. My car with BFG 255s on it and a 4 speed had zero traction yet amazingly went 15.90s at 90 mph. Now for the curve ball, it has a stock 318 in it. Years ago I had a stock 340/auto swinger with 3.91s in it and it ran high 13's at 100 mph. None of this really pertains to what your doing but it kinda gives you an idea.