Main Menu

MATCHING NUMBERS Cuda

Started by Manuel, May 17, 2020, 03:58:37 PM

Previous topic Next topic

Manuel

Did find the papers that show it paid duties here in Guatemala when it came to the dealer.

Surprised, I bought it until may 1975, so in 4 years the owner of the dealership had only put some 2000-2500 km on it!  Paid $6,500.00 for it.
Still smelled new. Thought I had bought it in 1974, the year I started with the airlines.

I am a pilot, flew day and night almost all of my life, airlines 43 years but had other part time flying jobs.  (38,000 hours so far)
Used the car some 6 years and then pretty much stored it an used it only once in a while.

Decided to re paint it maybe 25 years ago?   
Went to Mercedes, they did a very nice job but I noticed some very tiny bubbles in a very small area.    Guy said, we will remove all paint and re do.
So they did.
Some years later I saw them again!!!
Still that way, hard to see them and just few places but thinking about repainting it again.

71gogreen

Funny, Heat delete and no Air conditioning! :wave:

benlavigne

Quote from: cuda hunter on May 20, 2020, 05:16:03 PM
So third line second character is an I.   
Not sure what that means.  Can someone else who's watching chime in with that info.

In that spot was either U for USA, C for Canada, or I for International order

Ben

Manuel

Ah! Ok Hunter, I will take a Pic of the Oval tag and send it.
Its left side section has faded out.

Will also check what the cut out on the inspector tag is.

Have learned more of my Cuda in this 2-3 days than in the previous 45 years!

Thanks!    :thankyou:

Manuel

Maybe he did not order air conditioning because we are at 5000 feet elevation and it is quite fresh but no, he should have ordered it. It is needed in the summer.

Hey!, thanks for the I decoding!

Manuel

Its a D, what does that mean?

cuda hunter

Inspection tags are a bit of  a mystery.  I've yet to find any info on the stamps and impressions.