Main Menu

71 'Cuda restoration

Started by Tunis, March 28, 2017, 04:24:52 AM

Previous topic Next topic

Tunis

@RUNCHARGER  Thank you Sheldon for the tips! I will gladly take as many of them as you have. Would it be better to have the other quarter there before I put the trim in and do them both at the same time or would you do one side at a time?

Thank you all for helping me out! There is a lot to consider when doing body work and since this is my first time I think I will miss a bunch of crucial steps...

Tunis

Earlier this week I finished the quarter to roof section on the right side.

And welded it together.

Got some work these last few days and hopefully I can do more work tomorrow and Monday. Decided to wait with the taillight panel and focus on the left quarter panel first.

I was afraid the drip rails and roof would be equally bad on this side as well, but I was so pleasantly surprised when I removed the seam sealer.

No nasties there!  :bigthumb:

Quarter panel removed except by the door. I need to replace the hinges and then reposition the door before I can remove all of the old quarter.

With the quarter removed, the inner structure and the damage to it was revealed.

Cut out the bad metal.

First piece of the puzzle in place.

Inside after welding. It's going to be difficult to grind this down. Maybe I can sell this picture as art...  :thinking:

The damage extended up and under the roof, so I had to cut that part out. It was rusted and had to be replaced anyway.

It took a few hours to complete and it is not perfect smooth, but it will not be seen so I will not grind it further. Now the only thing left is to plug weld it.

Plug welded and ready for paint and weld through primer.

Tomorrow I will paint it and change the door hinges and prepare the quarter panel for installation.

Per

Cuda Cody

Love looking at your photos and following along as you make fantastic repairs.  Nice job my friend! 

303 Mopar